The Lost Man Booker Prize Longlist

At long last, those authors who missed their chance when the Man Booker Prize's rules were changed in 1971 have a chance at glory. Via Shelf Awareness:

The Guardian reported that the new award "aims to commemorate the works that 'fell through the net' in 1970 after changes to the Booker rules. In 1971, two years after the prize was first given, it ceased to be awarded retrospectively and became, as it is now, a prize for the best novel in the year of publication. The date on which the award was given was also moved from April to November, creating a gap when a wealth of 1970 fiction could not be eligible."

The list is below. Based on just what I've read from this list, I'll be rooting for Master and Commander, though the prize might offer a chance for a lucky author lesser-known to get their name back out there.

The Hand Reared Boy by Brian Aldiss
A Little of What You Fancy? by H.E. Bates
The Birds on the Trees by Bawden
A Place in England by Melvyn Bragg
Down All the Days by Christy Brown
Bomber by Len Deighton
Troubles by J.G. Farrell
The Circle by Elaine Feinstein
The Bay of Noon by Shirley Hazzard
A Clubbable Woman by Reginald Hill
I'm the King of the Castle by Susan Hill
A Domestic Animal by Francis King
The Fire Dwellers by Margaret Laurence
Out of the Shelter by David Lodge
A Fairly Honourable Defeat by Iris Murdoch
Fireflies by Shiva Naipaul
Master and Commander by Patrick O'Brian
Head to Toe by Joe Orton
Fire from Heaven by Mary Renault
A Guilty Thing Surprised by Ruth Rendell
The Driver's Seat by Muriel Spark
The Vivisector by Patrick White

No comments: